Hard drives in the RV

Offroad Usable data storage with shock absorption

Foreword / Update 2016

We have a year 2007 External 3.5″ Decided disks, since the time available 2.5″ Had hard drives to small capacity.

This has now changed fundamentally and for the average use mobile hard drives are offered with sufficient capacity.

We also use for several years small external hard drives (pairs wg. Reflection) and reflect important data in addition to the permanently installed 3.5″ Hard drives. Very we have good experience with the USB hard drives My Passport WD (Western Digital) made. So far, none of the drives died, wherein the first 2008 originates!

Actual (2016) We primarily use a mirrored pair with My Passport 4 TB / USB 3.0. For now somewhat older notebook (USB 2.0) was for a StarTech.com 2 Port ExpressCard SuperSpeed ​​USB 3.0 Acquired Card Adapter, to reflect the data faster.

Incorporation of 3.5″ Hard drives can still be useful today, when 3.5″ HDD has left. In the depths of technology compartment built hard drives have the advantage, that they are not so easily found in a break. Thus, a remains at least one data fuse, when the notebook and the external hard drives are stolen.

That is why we leave this Website still temporarily online.

General

For capacity- and security reasons, we want to rely not only on the built-in notebook hard drive. So it had to be built into the vehicle, additional external USB drives. Particularly for longer trips more space is required but after careful consideration, than originally believed.

What kind of data should be saved?

  • new photos of the road
  • new video on the go
  • Data backup of notebooks with modified Generationenprinzip
  • Images of Windows & Drivers. For new installations also better prepared CDs / DVDs should or. be a USB flash drive to install it!
  • Images of the most important programs, if reinstallation is required
  • the indispensable music from its own collection as MP3
  • enough free space for copying data
  • Other data

General considerations

  • there are two disks are mirrored (z.B. With FreeFileSync.org)
  • Encryption of all data Truecrypt
  • fixed installation in the vehicle, so that the HDDs "cleaned up" are
  • yet simple installation / removal, if driving is required
  • USB socket and switch on the panel, so any installation in the technology specialist possible
  • Built with Vibration- and shock-absorbing bearing

Requirements for the Disk Hardware

  • true on / off switch, switches the power supply (So no button), so that the hard drive also turns on when power is supplied via a switch panel
  • Separate power supply: primarily 100-240 VAC / secondary: 12 VDC. Thus, the operation with 12 VDC in the vehicle or carried around the world mobilized to the mains
  • Metal case for shielding due to the installation in the technology specialist
  • compact as possible
  • noise, possible fan
  • USB 2.0 With Highspeed

Which hard drive meets all the criteria?

From the technical data sheets of the manufacturers usually not apparent, whether the hard disk has a genuine on / off switch and the power adapter to a power supply socket on the HDD enclosure with 12 VDC is connected.

Because of the time of purchase limited storage capacity of 2.5″ HDDs (max. 160 GB), the choice fell on 3.5″ Desktop-HDDs. When all the criteria be met by model Freecom had the storage capacity of the models of 160 – 500 GB will not affect the housing size. Therefore we chose the model with 500 GB.

Considerations for installation

The disks are mounted directly on the floor assembly in engineering specialist at a free location. To avoid expensive designs, to the shock absorption are mounted between HDD and soil.
Thus, the shock absorption must be stable enough, to carry the weight of the hard disk, On the other hand elastic enough, to absorb the energy from vibrations and impacts in all directions. It must be borne in mind, that cools the fanless drive via the housing, So should not be comprehensively "wrapped in cotton wool". Furthermore, the hard drive for mobile applications is made easy- and be installed.

Ultimately, the following, give constructive rather simple and economical solution. Practice will show, whether this solution is suitable for long term. The pipe insulation can be used but replaced quickly and inexpensively with fatigue.

Vibration- and shock-absorbing mounting

The shock absorption comprises the following components:
• Rubber feet (Baumarkt)
• garden hose ½” (Baumarkt)
• webbing B:25mm (Baumarkt)
• eyelets, Inner diameter ca. 5mm (Baumarkt)
• Screw, which fit through the eyelets (Baumarkt)
• PE-Rohrisolation as. d = 50mm / opening ca. d=25mm (Baumarkt)
• clamping lock straps L:50cm/B:20mm, z.B. of Fasty (please refer AUBU AG)

Through the opening of the pipe insulation is a piece of ½” Out garden hose, through which the upper strap around the hard drive is running. The length of pipe insulation and garden hose is a little shorter, as the hard drive is wide. Are pipe insulation and hose is too long, is the strap laterally not more properly to the hard drive on.

Another belt is below the tubing only by the pipe insulation (NOT through the hose!) out and very nearly right and left of the pipe insulation screwed by pre-riveted into the belt loops on the vehicle floor. The cooling of the hard drive is guaranteed, because the pipe insulation covers little surface and for a great distance from the bottom of the compartment ensures Technology, favoring the air circulation.
The transparent adhesive feet to the top of the plate prevent the tension belts or. the hard disk from slipping.

Costs

Materialwert as. 20 EUR for 2 Hard drives (naturally without hard disks), Time required approx. 2 Std.

Crash Test

Drop tests from ca. 15cm height loss and hard drive have not impressed.

Minus Grade

When unheated overwintering of the vehicle hard disks should be strengthened. If the vehicle overwinters frost-free, can the hard disks normally remain in the vehicle. In any case, the specified temperature range of the hard disk used must be observed.

Practical experience

The hard drives are now since 45.000 km in use. So far, no problems have occurred. Only the clamping lock straps were tightened somewhat, since these had slightly eased, However, what was uncritically.

Installation Disk into the motorhome

Below are some pictures of the installation of our hard drives with shock absorption in the vehicle.

Other pages about vehicle

WLAN & WiFi in the RV, Caravan and mobile Expedition
Unicat Expedition Vehicle MAN L2000 8.224 LAEC
All technical details
Links & Addresses of professionals for the expedition vehicle

“Expect difficulties, but do not fear them.”
(Unknown)

Festplatten im Reisemobil

Offroadtaugliche Datenspeicher mit Stoßdämpfung

Vorbemerkung / Update 2016

Wir haben uns im Jahr 2007 für externe 3.5″ Festplatten entschieden, da die damals verfügbaren 2.5″ Festplatten zu geringe Kapazität hatten.

Dies hat sich inzwischen grundlegend geändert und für die durchschnittliche Nutzung werden mobile Festplatten mit ausreichenden Kapazitäten angeboten.

Auch wir verwenden seit einigen Jahren kleine externe Festplatten (paarweise wg. Spiegelung) und spiegeln wichtige Daten zusätzlich mit den fest eingebauten 3.5″ Festplatten. Sehr gute Erfahrungen haben wir mit den USB-Festplatten My Passport von WD (Western Digital) gemacht. Bisher ist noch keine der Platten gestorben, wobei die erste aus 2008 stammt!

Aktuell (2016) nutzen wir hauptsächlich ein gespiegeltes Paar My Passport mit 4 TB / USB 3.0. Für das inzwischen schon etwas ältere Notebook (USB 2.0) wurde dafür ein StarTech.com 2 Port ExpressCard SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter angeschafft, um die Daten schneller spiegeln zu können.

Der Einbau von 3.5″ Festplatten kann auch heute noch sinnvoll sein, wenn man 3.5″ Festplatten übrig hat. In den Tiefen des Technikfachs verbaute Festplatten haben den Vorteil, dass sie bei einem Einbruch nicht so einfach gefunden werden. So bleibt einem zumindest eine Datensicherung, wenn das Notebook und die externen Festplatten gestohlen werden.

Deshalb lassen wir diese Webseite noch vorübergehend online.

Allgemein

Aus Kapazitäts- und Sicherheitsgründen wollen wir uns nicht nur auf die im Notebook eingebaute Festplatte verlassen. Es mussten also zusätzliche externe USB Festplatten ins Fahrzeug eingebaut werden. Gerade bei längeren Reisen ist nach sorgfältiger Überlegung doch mehr Speicherplatz erforderlich, als zunächst vermutet.

Welche Art von Daten sollen gespeichert werden?

  • neue Fotos von unterwegs
  • neue Videos von unterwegs
  • Datensicherung der Notebooks mit modifiziertem Generationenprinzip
  • Images von Windows & Treibern. Für Neuinstallationen sollten besser auch vorbereitete CDs/DVDs bzw. ein USB-Stick für die Installation dabei sein!
  • Images der wichtigsten Programme, falls Neuinstallation erforderlich
  • die unverzichtbare Musik aus der eigenen Sammlung als MP3
  • genügend freier Speicherplatz zum Umkopieren von Daten
  • sonstige Daten

Grundsätzliche Überlegungen

  • es sollen zwei Festplatten gespiegelt werden (z.B. mit FreeFileSync.org)
  • Verschlüsselung aller Daten mit Truecrypt
  • fester Einbau im Fahrzeug, damit die HDDs »aufgeräumt« sind
  • dennoch einfacher Ein-/Ausbau, falls Mitnahme erforderlich
  • USB-Buchse und Schalter am Panel, damit beliebiger Einbauort im Technikfach möglich
  • Einbau mit erschütterungs- und stoßgedämpfter Lagerung

Anforderungen an die Festplatten-Hardware

  • echter Ein-/Ausschalter, der die Stromversorgung schaltet (also kein Taster), damit sich die Festplatte bei Stromzufuhr über einen Panelschalter auch einschaltet
  • Separates Netzteil: primär 100-240 VAC / sekundär: 12 VDC. So kann der Betrieb mit 12 VDC im Fahrzeug oder weltweit mobil am Stromnetz erfolgen
  • Metallgehäuse zur Abschirmung wegen dem Einbau ins Technikfach
  • möglichst kompakte Bauform
  • geräuscharm, möglichst lüfterlos
  • USB 2.0 mit Highspeed

Welche Festplatte erfüllt alle Kriterien?

Aus den technischen Datenblättern der Hersteller geht meist nicht hervor, ob die Festplatte einen echten Ein-/Ausschalter besitzt und das Netzteil an einer Netzteilbuchse am Festplatten-Gehäuse mit 12 VDC angeschlossen wird.

Wegen der zum Kaufzeitpunkt begrenzten Speicherkapazität der 2.5″ HDDs (max. 160 GB), fiel die Wahl auf 3.5″ Desktop-HDDs. Bei der alle Kriterien erfüllenden Modellreihe von Freecom hatte die Speicherkapazität der Modelle von 160 – 500 GB keinen Einfluss auf die Gehäusegröße. Deshalb entschieden wir uns für das Modell mit 500 GB.

Vorüberlegungen zum Einbau

Die Festplatten sollen im Technikfach an einer freien Stelle direkt auf die Bodengruppe montiert werden. Um aufwändige Konstruktionen zu vermeiden, soll die Stoßdämpfung zwischen Festplatte und Boden angebracht werden.
Die Stoßdämpfung muss also stabil genug sein, um das Gewicht der Festplatte zu tragen, andererseits elastisch genug, um die Energie von Erschütterungen und Stößen in allen Raumrichtungen zu absorbieren. Dabei muss bedacht werden, dass sich die lüfterlose Festplatte über das Gehäuse kühlt, also nicht flächendeckend »in Watte« gepackt werden darf. Weiterhin soll die Festplatte für den mobilen Einsatz einfach aus- und einzubauen sein.

Letztlich hat sich die folgende, konstruktiv recht einfache und preiswerte Lösung ergeben. Die Praxis wird zeigen, ob diese Lösung langfristig tauglich ist. Die verwendete Rohrisolation kann bei Ermüdungserscheinungen jedoch schnell und kostengünstig ausgetauscht werden.

Erschütterungs- und stoßgedämpfter Einbau

Die Stoßdämpfung besteht aus folgenden Komponenten:
• Klebefüße (Baumarkt)
• Gartenschlauch ½“ (Baumarkt)
• Gurtband B:25mm (Baumarkt)
• Ösen, Innendurchmesser ca. 5mm (Baumarkt)
• Schrauben, die durch die Ösen passen (Baumarkt)
• PE-Rohrisolation ca. d=50mm/Öffnung ca. d=25mm (Baumarkt)
• Klemmschlossgurte L:50cm/B:20mm, z.B. von Fasty (siehe AUBU AG)

Durch die Öffnung der Rohrisolation wird ein Stück ½“ Gartenschlauch geführt, durch den der obere Spanngurt um die Festplatte läuft. Die Länge von Rohrisolation und Gartenschlauch ist etwas kürzer, als die Festplatte breit ist. Sind Rohrisolation und Schlauch zu lang, liegt der Spanngurt seitlich nicht mehr richtig an der Festplatte an.

Ein weiterer Gurt wird unterhalb des Schlauchs nur durch die Rohrisolation (NICHT durch den Schlauch!) geführt und sehr knapp rechts und links der Rohrisolation durch vorher in den Gurt eingenietete Ösen am Fahrzeugboden verschraubt. Die Kühlung der Festplatte bleibt gewährleistet, da die Rohrisolation wenig Fläche verdeckt und für einen großen Abstand zum Boden des Technikfachs sorgt, der die Luftzirkulation begünstigt.
Die transparenten Klebefüße an der Oberseite der Platte hindern die Spanngurte bzw. die Festplatte am Verrutschen.

Kosten

Materialwert ca. 20 EUR für 2 Festplatten (natürlich ohne Festplatten), Zeitaufwand ca. 2 Std.

Crashtest

Falltests aus ca. 15cm Höhe haben Dämpfung und Festplatte nicht sonderlich beeindruckt.

Minusgrade

Beim unbeheizten Überwintern des Fahrzeugs sollten Festplatten ausgebaut werden. Wird das Fahrzeug frostfrei überwintert, können die Festplatten normalerweise im Fahrzeug verbleiben. In jedem Fall muss der spezifizierte Temperaturbereich der verwendeten Festplatte beachtet werden.

Praxiserfahrung

Die Festplatten sind nun seit 45.000 km im Einsatz. Bisher sind keinerlei Probleme aufgetreten. Lediglich die Klemmschlossgurte wurden etwas nachgespannt, da diese sich geringfügig gelockert hatten, was jedoch völlig unkritisch war.

Einbau Festplatten ins Reisemobil

Nachfolgend einige Fotos rund um den Einbau unserer Festplatten mit Stoßdämpfung in das Fahrzeug.

Weitere Seiten zum Fahrzeug

WLAN & WiFi im Reisemobil, Wohnmobil und Expeditionsmobil
Expeditionsmobil Unicat MAN L2000 8.224 LAEC
Alle technischen Details
Links & Adressen von Fachleuten fürs Expeditionsmobil

„Rechne mit Schwierigkeiten, aber fürchte sie nicht.“
(Unbekannt)