Accommodation places

Pitches for the night in the motorhome

Panamericana accommodation places and campsites

On PanamericanaInfo.com there are already a lot of links to the extensive Camping lists of Panamericana travelers and to other sites with plots along the Panamerican Highway in North America, Central America and South America. Furthermore, there is a Panamericana booklist with printed camping guides / Guidebooks with countless Sleepings.

In our list, therefore, are only sleeping spaces, who we liked, useful or relatively unknown.

Accommodation places Canada

Dawson

Goldrush Campground (goldrushcampground.com)
In downtown Dawson City Goldrush Campground is the, from which the gold-mining town can be explored on foot. Free WiFi and good washing machines are available. Law useful before or after the Dempster Highway.

Yukon River Campground Dawson City
A natural alternative is the government-owned Yukon River Campground on the opposite side of the Yukon Dawson. In the camping fees firewood is included and there are places with a fire pit in the forest right on the Yukon. Toilets and water (Handpumpen) are also available. WiFi does not exist! The "Black George" ferry in ca. 10 Minutes day and night for free on the Yukon (Pedestrian, vehicles) and from the campground to the ferry there are on foot just a few minutes.

TIP: Who wants to continue on the top-of-the-World Highway to Alaska, should make a note about this campground for the last night in Dawson. We have heard, that in the summer at the ferry times to waiting times of 3-4 May come hours. Then who is already over, is a clear advantage.

Lillooet

Seton Dam Campground (bchydro.com)
About 6 km west of Lillooet (Direction Whistler) located to the left the entrance to the free Seton Dam Campground by BC Hydro. In addition to the free parking space is also obtained free firewood. Those who stay a few days, should take a place near the offices (seen from the driveway right behind), because the firewood then does not have to be so far dragged.

Toilets / Water availability, but no electricity and no dump station. Emergency can be dumped in the RV Park, what this can pay understandably good.

BC Hydro operates another free campsites.

Victoria

Westbay Marine Village RV Park (westbay.bc.ca)
RV Park right on the water with spectacular views of Victoria and the harbor area. With the water taxi to get to Victoria. The RV park is not cheap, but nevertheless always well documented.

Lodging places USA

Utah

Antelope Island State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
The Antelope Iceland SP with its free-roaming bison is located on a beautiful island in the Great Salt Lake and can be reached just north of Salt Lake City over a causeway. At the campsite no firewood is available, So bring your own! Nature lovers with some time remain probably not just one night!

Dead Horse Point State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
The State Park with campground is located between the Arches NP and Canyonlands NP and offers a breathtaking view of the loops of the Colorado River.

GPS: N38 ° 29.346 W109 ° 44.197

Goosenecks State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
The State Park with camp is located near the Mexican Hat and offers stunning views of the San Juan River loops of.

GPS: N37 ° 10.488 W109 ° 55.629

Idaho

Craters of the Moon National Monument (nps.gov)
The campground in Craters of the Moon NM made a good impression and was low. Unfortunately, we had stayed near.

California

Lake Cahuilla (riversidecountyparks.org)
The campsite at Lake Cahuilla is ca. 8 km southeast of La Quinta. There is an area for the more favorable Dry Camping (no water-, no power supply). Dump station is present. Firewood can be purchased at the Office.

Accommodation places Mexico

Peace, Baja California

Playa El Tecolote

Here most travelers are on a few days, either take the ferry to the Mexican mainland or come from there. Spectacular sunsets! No supply!

GPS: N24°20.262′ W110 ° 18.516′

Mazatlan

Trailer Park California
Smaller, family-run trailer park in the center of the "Golden Zone". 2-3 Minute walk from Malecón. Very good for sightseeing and for the Carnival parade suitable. A MEGA is diagonally opposite, the mall La Gran Plaza ca. 10-15 Walking distance, Home Depot and Soriana are in the same street ca. 800 meters. Pulmonias (open Taxis) are always available. WiFi available.

GPS: N23 ° 14.400 W106 ° 26.692

Guanajuato

Morrill Trailer Park
City Middle RV Park for a few small vehicles. About 20 Minute walk to the city center. Water, current, Sewage, The shower, Toilets.

GPS: N21 ° 01.495 W101 ° 15.142

San Miguel de Allende

San Miguel RV Park (sanmigueltennis.com)
City Middle campsite ca. 12 Vehicles on the hacienda of the Weber family. The meeting point for Mexico travelers. About 10-15 Minute walk from the city center, 5 Minute walk from the Instituto Allende. The campground is located between tennis courts. Water, current, Sewage, The shower, Toilets, fast WiFi. 2x per week Laundry Pickup / return at the same day.

GPS: N20 ° 54.462 W100 ° 44.950 (nondescript driveway – Bell at the gate!)

German-speaking doctors in San Miguel de Allende with clinic: Dr. Marco Antonio Gordillo Morath, Car: 415 1051234, sanmiguel-health.com and Dr. Gordillo Ricardo Werner Morath, Car: 415 1095961, lahealthsma.com. Both doctors speak German, Spanish, English and look forward to German-speaking travelers! Address: Hidalgo No. 28, ca. 5 Distance from the center.

Übernachtungsplätze

Stellplätze für die Übernachtung im Reisemobil

Panamericana Übernachtungsplätze und Campingplätze

Auf PanamericanaInfo.com gibt es bereits sehr viele Links zu den umfangreichen Campinglisten von Panamericana-Reisenden und zu anderen Websites mit Stellplätzen entlang der Panamericana in Nordamerika, Zentralamerika und Südamerika. Weiterhin gibt es dort eine Panamericana Bücherliste mit gedruckten Campingführern / Reiseführern mit unzähligen Übernachtungsplätzen.

In unserer Liste sind deshalb nur Übernachtungsplätze, die uns gut gefallen haben, die nützlich oder relativ unbekannt sind.

Übernachtungsplätze Kanada

Dawson

Goldrush Campground (goldrushcampground.com)
In der Innenstadt von Dawson City liegt der Goldrush Campground, von dem aus die Goldgräberstadt bequem zu Fuß erkundet werden kann. Kostenloses WiFi und gute Waschmaschinen sind vorhanden. Recht nützlich vor oder nach dem Dempster Highway.

Yukon River Campground Dawson City
Eine naturnahe Alternative ist der regierungseigene Yukon River Campground auf der Dawson gegenüberliegenden Seite des Yukon. In den Campinggebühren ist Feuerholz inbegriffen und es gibt Plätze mit Feuerstelle im Wald direkt am Yukon. Toiletten und Wasser (Handpumpen) sind ebenfalls vorhanden. WiFi gibt es nicht! Die »George Black« Fähre fährt in ca. 10 Minuten Tag und Nacht kostenlos über den Yukon (Fußgänger, Fahrzeuge) und vom Campground zum Fähranleger sind es zu Fuß nur ein paar Minuten.

TIPP: Wer weiter auf dem Top-of-the-World Highway nach Alaska will, sollte sich diesen Campground für die letzte Übernachtung in Dawson vormerken. Wir haben gehört, dass es im Sommer an der Fähre manchmal zu Wartezeiten von 3-4 Stunden kommen kann. Wer dann schon drüben ist, ist klar im Vorteil.

Lillooet

Seton Dam Campground (bchydro.com)
Etwa 6 km westlich von Lillooet (Richtung Whistler) befindet sich links die Einfahrt zum kostenlosen Seton Dam Campground von BC Hydro. Neben dem kostenlosen Stellplatz erhält man auch kostenloses Feuerholz. Wer ein paar Tage bleibt, sollte sich einen Platz in der Nähe des Büros nehmen (von der Einfahrt gesehen rechts hinten), da das Feuerholz dann nicht so weit geschleppt werden muss.

Toiletten / Wasser sind vorhanden, aber kein Strom und keine Dumpstation. Notfalls kann im RV Park im Ort gedumpt werden, was dieser sich verständlicherweise gut bezahlen lässt.

BC Hydro betreibt noch weitere kostenlose Campingplätze.

Victoria

Westbay Marine Village RV Park (westbay.bc.ca)
RV Park direkt am Wasser mit grandiosem Blick auf Viktoria und den Hafenbereich. Mit dem Wasser-Taxi kommt man nach Victoria. Der RV Park ist nicht günstig, aber trotzdem immer gut belegt.

Übernachtungsplätze USA

Utah

Antelope Island State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
Der Antelope Island SP mit seinen freilaufenden Bisons befindet sich auf einer schönen Insel im Great Salt Lake und ist etwas nördlich von Salt Lake City über eine Dammstraße zu erreichen. Auf dem Campingplatz ist kein Feuerholz erhältlich, also selbst mitbringen! Naturliebhaber mit etwas Zeit bleiben vermutlich nicht nur eine Nacht!

Dead Horse Point State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
Der State Park mit Campingplatz liegt zwischen dem Arches NP und dem Canyonlands NP und bietet einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Schleifen des Colorado River.

GPS: N38°29.346 W109°44.197

Goosenecks State Park (stateparks.utah.gov)
Der State Park mit Campingplatz liegt in der Nähe des Mexican Hat und bietet einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Schleifen des San Juan River.

GPS: N37°10.488 W109°55.629

Idaho

Craters of the Moon National Monument (nps.gov)
Der Campground im Craters of the Moon NM machte einen guten Eindruck und war günstig. Wir hatten leider in der Nähe übernachtet.

Kalifornien

Lake Cahuilla (riversidecountyparks.org)
Der Campingplatz am Lake Cahuilla ist ca. 8 km südöstlich von La Quinta. Es gibt einen Bereich für das günstigere Dry-Camping (kein Wasser-, kein Stromanschluss). Dumpstation ist vorhanden. Feuerholz kann im Office gekauft werden.

Übernachtungsplätze Mexiko

La Paz, Baja California

Playa el Tecolote

Hier stehen die meisten Reisenden für ein paar Tage, die entweder die Fähre zum mexikanischen Festland nehmen oder von dort kommen. Spektakuläre Sonnenuntergänge! Keine Versorgung!

GPS: N24°20.262′ W110°18.516′

Mazatlán

Trailer Park California
Kleiner, familiengeführter Trailer Park zentral in der »Goldenen Zone«. 2-3 Gehminuten vom Malecón entfernt. Sehr gut zur Stadtbesichtigung und für den Karnevalsumzug geeignet. Ein MEGA ist schräg gegenüber, das Einkaufszentrum La Gran Plaza ca. 10-15 Gehminuten entfernt, Home Depot und Soriana sind in derselben Straße ca. 800 m entfernt. Pulmonias (offene Taxis) sind ständig verfügbar. WiFi ist vorhanden.

GPS: N23°14.400 W106°26.692

Guanajuato

Morrill Trailer Park
Stadtnaher RV Park für wenige kleine Fahrzeuge. Etwa 20 Gehminuten ins Stadtzentrum. Wasser, Strom, Abwasser, Duschen, Toiletten.

GPS: N21°01.495 W101°15.142

San Miguel de Allende

San Miguel RV Park (sanmigueltennis.com)
Stadtnaher Campingplatz für ca. 12 Fahrzeuge auf der Hazienda der Familie Weber. Der Treffpunkt für Mexiko Reisende. Etwa 10-15 Gehminuten vom Stadtzentrum und 5 Gehminuten vom Instituto Allende entfernt. Der Campingplatz liegt zwischen Tennisplätzen. Wasser, Strom, Abwasser, Duschen, Toiletten, schnelles WiFi. 2x pro Woche Wäscheservice mit Abholung/Rückgabe am selben Tag.

GPS: N20°54.462 W100°44.950 (unscheinbare Einfahrt – Klingel am Tor!)

Deutschsprachige Ärzte in San Miguel de Allende mit Klinik: Dr. Marco Antonio Gordillo Mörath, Mobil: 415 1051234, sanmiguel-health.com und Dr. Werner Ricardo Gordillo Mörath, Mobil: 415 1095961, lahealthsma.com. Beide Ärzte sprechen Deutsch, Spanisch, Englisch und freuen sich auf deutschsprachige Reisende! Adresse: Hidalgo No. 28, ca. 5 Gehminuten vom Zentrum.